The Society was formed in 1974 by amalgamation of the Society of Chief Quantity Surveyors of County Councils, the Society of County Borough Chief Quantity Surveyors, and the Association of London Borough Quantity Surveyors.

All Society members are Chartered Quantity Surveyors, so there is a strong connection with the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. The Society is a member of the Federation of Property Societies and it maintains links with a number of “sister organisations”, including in particular SCALA – the Society of Chief Architects of Local Authorities.

Through the years the Society has published a number of documents which have become industry standards, including guidance on the calculation of liquidated and ascertained damages, practice in relation to insolvency, and perhaps most notably the creation of the National Schedule of Rates.

This section of the Society website is devoted to information which may normally be found in the current edition of the Society Yearbook and Directory. Entries within the website will be modified frequently and it follows that some sections of the yearbook will be updated on the website in advance of appearing in the printed book.

The following information is available by clicking on the hyperlink below:

Past Presidents

Officers and Members of Council

Constitution of the Society of Construction and Quantity Surveyors


The Society does not hold itself responsible or liable for views or activities represented on this website whether contributed by its individual members or by the local authorities which individual members may represent.